Product detail

Near Enemy

Near Enemy

Author: Adam Sternbergh
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 2
Description

The sequel to the Edgar-nominated SHOVEL READY, featuring kill-for-hire antihero Spademan. Perfect for fans of INCEPTION, LOOPER and Hugh Howie. 'Anyone who still lives in Manhattan and has anything of real value to protect does it with a shotgun, not a deadbolt. So the problem isn't getting in, it's getting out.' When New York was hit by a dirty bomb, the city became a burnt-out shell and only the wealthy were able to escape, to a virtual reality quite different from the world around them. Former garbage man, Spademan, lost his wife and his livelihood - in a city comprised entirely of garbage, there's little one man can do. So he became a hit man, clearing up in a whole new way. But now the virtual world is under threat from elite terrorists operating from somewhere in New York and Spademan is tasked with tracking them down. He's not used to having enemies - his foes usually end up dead pretty quickly - but he's about to find out just how close they are, and how dangerous they can be...

Promotion info

For fans of Lee Child, Raymond Chandler and Lauren Beukes, NEAR ENEMY is the ultimate noir thriller.

Reviews

Hardboiled as f*** with writing as fierce and sharp as a paper-cut -- Lauren Beukes, author of The Shining Girls Savage future noir that crackles with deadpan wit -- Nick Harkaway, author of The Gone-Away World and Angelmaker Debut novels as sleek, resonant and accomplished as this are a rare gift -- Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me Elegant, lean and clever noir -- Roger Hobbs, author of Ghostman

Author description

ADAM STERNBERGH is the culture editor of the New York Times Magazine. Formally an editor-at-large for New York, his writing has been featured in several other publications, including GQ and The Times, and on the radio programme This American Life. He lives in Brooklyn. The first Spademan novel Shovel Ready is available from Headline.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781472216199
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Book Publishing
  • : June 2015
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : September 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 320
  • : 813.6
  • : 1
  • : Paperback
  • : Adam Sternbergh